My adult children still want after school snacks

The food: Lemony Mint Hummus

P1010380

The story:

My two university age sons are home for the summer but won’t start work at their summer day camp counselor jobs for 27 days yet, not that I’m counting.

Between their workouts and lazing about sessions, they like to have an ‘after-school’ snack at 3:30 every day. And because they’re into eating healthy these days, their snack of choice is homemade hummus with vegetables.

The hummus recipe I use came from Silva Basmajian, a prominent Canadian documentary film producer I knew socially 30 years ago and haven’t seen since (hi Silva!). She once brought some delicious homemade hummus to a party I attended, so I asked her for the recipe, wrote it down, and kept the piece of paper all these years:

Ancient artifact hummus recipe, circa 1978

Ancient artifact hummus recipe, circa 1978


I’ve adapted it to suit my own taste and the kids’: I omit the garlic, and I freshen it up with extra lemon juice and some chopped mint leaves. Plus, I now make it in a food processor instead of a blender.

P1010369

I only eat it when it’s freshly made, is at room temperature and has an enticing soft texture, but the boys eat it daily from the fridge, which means I get to haul out the food processor to make a fresh batch every few days, lucky me.

P1010371

Lemony Mint Hummus (adapted from Silva Basmajian)

1/3 c. tahini
1/4 c. water
19 oz. can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
3 T. olive oil
juice of 1 lemon (about 1/4 c.)
1 tsp. ground coriander
1 tsp. cumin
salt + pepper
handful of washed and dried mint leaves, chopped

Puree all ingredients in food processor.

One thought on “My adult children still want after school snacks

Leave a Reply

